10A Homework – Quotation Learning

Learn these quotes – ready for a quote quiz! Due Wednesday 1st March 

 

Mr Birling: If we are all responsible for everything that happened to everybody we’d had anything to do with; it would be very awkward, wouldn’t it?

 

Inspector: Miss Birling has just been made to understand what she did to this girl. She feels responsible.

 

Sheila: But these girls aren’t cheap labour. They’re people.

 

Inspector: If there’s nothing else, we’ll have to share our guilt.

 

Mr Birling: I’ve got to cover this up as soon as I can.

 

Inspector: This girl killed herself—and died a horrible death. But each of you helped to kill her. Remember that. Never forget it. But then I don’t think you ever will.

 

Mrs Birling: I’m sorry she should have come to such a horrible end. But I accept no blame for it at all.

 

Sheila: I don’t dislike you as I did half an hour ago, Gerald. In fact, in some odd way, I rather respect you more than I’ve ever done before.

 

Mr Birling: I tell you, by that time you’ll be living in a world that’ll have forgotten all these Capital versus Labour agitations… There’ll be peace and prosperity and rapid progress everywhere.

 

Mr Birling: It’s a free country, I told them. Eric: It isn’t if you can’t go and work somewhere else.

 

 

Leave a Reply

